Parks & Wildlife Commission of the NT

Location: 25 Chung Wah Terrace Palmerston NT 0831
Phone: 08 89994555
Fax: 8 8999 4558


The Parks and Wildlife Commission of the NT is a division of the Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security.

The Commission is responsible for developing and managing a comprehensive system of land and marine protected areas for the Territory. The Commission manages 85 parks and reserves for conservation and nature based recreation and tourism. The Park and Reserve system encompasses over 45,000 square kilometres, from the arid Centre to the tropical Top End, approximately 3.5% of the Territory’s land mass. Thirty two of the parks and reserves are managed in partnership with Aboriginal people.

The Commission also conducts surveys and research into the NT’s flora and fauna. This research aims to improve knowledge, identify priority conservation areas and develop strategies for the conservation, management and sustainable use of the Territory’s flora and fauna across all land tenures.

The Parks and Wildlife Commission is made up of three areas of management:

Parks and Wildlife Operations, Park Development and Strategic Projects and Commercial and Community Partnerships, which includes the Territory Wildlife Park and Alice Springs Desert Park.



Level 4 Goyder Building
25 Chung Wah Terrace Palmerston
NT 0831

Sign up for Newsletters & Deals from Katherine Visitor Centre! Sign Up Today