Trip Planner/Shopping Cart

Book Now

Book your Top End adventure now...

 

PINE CREEK and SOUTHERN KAKADU

 

The town of Pine Creek is located 90km north of Katherine at the junction of the Stuart and Kakadu Hwys. Local Aboriginal peoples of the area are the Wagiman, Mayall, Arigoolia and Jawoyn.

Overland Telegraph line construction worker Sidney Herbert named Pine Creek in 1870. Herbert noted, “This creek was by no means large, but was remarkable for the pines growing there.”

During construction of the Overland Telegraph Line, posthole diggers discovered traces of gold and this led to the gold rush of 1871. Pine creek became a busy little mining town and around the year 1885 there were about 200 Europeans and 4000 Chinese working the goldfields

Today, Pine Creek is a small friendly town that has food, fuel, accommodation and health services to cater to visitor’s needs. Local attractions include the collections of historic buildings and sites from the mining days, gorges and swimming holes.

Pine Creek holds the Gold Rush Festival annually in June, featuring the local gold-panning championships. The Pine Creek Races are held annually in May at Pussy Cat Flats Racecourse.

Pine Creek is an ideal spot for bird watching, with the largest number of bird species in the Northern Territory – including the elusive Hooded Parrot.

MINE LOOKOUT


Access to the lookout is via a steep bitumen road close to the centre of Pine Creek Township (no caravans). This lookout gives a panoramic view of the Enterprise Pit which is an open cut mine, now full of water to the depth of 135 meters. It began as the Enterprise Shaft in1906 and was worked intermittently until 1985 when Pine Creek Goldfields developed the open-cut mine. During the 10-year life span of the goldfields mine 764,000 ounces of gold were extracted. Old Chinese mine shafts can also be viewed at the top of the lookout. Sunset views are spectacular from this vantage point.

 

MINERS PARK


This park is located next to the Railway Station and the old Station Master’s residence. It houses historic mining machinery from old mines in the Pine Creek area. Interpretive signs and displays give a comprehensive picture of life on the goldfields and the history of mining in the region. It is the venue for the Australia day festivities and local gold panning championships held each year.

 

NATIONAL TRUST MUSEUM

 

Pine Creek is the only original mining town remaining in the Top End from the gold rush. Two National Trust properties remain as reminders of this fascinating era. The Pine Creek Museum building, originally the home of the mining warden in Burrundie, was moved to Pine Creek in 1913. Over the decades it has been used as a doctor’s residence, clinic, dispensary, military hospital, post office and exchange, and now houses a local history exhibit. Public internet access is available on site at the library.

The Pine Creek Railway Station is a relic of the former North Australia Railway, which was extended to Pine Creek in 1889 during the gold rush. During World War II Pine Creek played an important role, as it was one of the four dispersal bases on the North Australian Railway with up to 147 services a week. Today visitors can see the railway building waiting rooms, a goods shed, the house of the railway employee and the original Beyer Peacock locomotives and TA class diesel-electric shunting engine. 

Entry by gold coin donation. Please contact 0475848459 for entry.

 

 pc1

 

OLD BAKERY


This interesting corrugated iron building was originally built at Mt Diamond around 1908 by Jimmy Ah Toy’s father, who used it as a butcher shop. It was dismantled and re-erected on its present site in 1915. The ant bed oven dates from 1922. It operated as a bakery until WW2.

 

pc2

 

RAILWAY STATION MUSEUM AND STEAM LOCOMOTIVE

 

The Pine Creek Railway Station is a relic of the former North Australia Railway, which was extended to Pine Creek in 1889 during the gold rush. During World War II Pine Creek played an important role, as it was one of the four dispersal bases on the North Australian Railway with up to 147 services a week. Today visitors can see the railway building waiting rooms, a goods shed, the house of the railway employee and the original Beyer Peacock locomotives and TA class diesel-electric shunting engine. 

Entry by gold coin donation. Please contact 0475848459 for entry.

 

pc3

 

UMBRAWARRA GORGE


This gorge is located 22km south-west of Pine Creek, further along from Lake Copperfield. It features swimming holes with sandy beaches sheltered by the steep red gorge walls. The first group of deep swimming pools is about 15-minute walk from the car park. Magnificent cliff-top views and secluded waterholes will reward the adventurous, with the local bushland abounding with wildlife. Camping and toilet facilities are available, road access during the wet season may be restricted. For more information on Umbrawarra Gorge click here to go to the National Parks Website.

 pc4

 

WALKTHROUGH TIME FOOTPATH


Heading south from the railway station and locomotive is the historic “Walk through Time” footpath, which is made up of nine bays of tiles painted by local artists. The tiles from a timeline along the footpath, commemorating people who have made a contribution to Pine Creek, from the Aboriginal people to the miners and pastoralists of the 1960s. More tile bays will be added in the future.

 

WATER GARDENS


When the railway lines closed in1976, the disused cutting became the Water Gardens, this tropical garden is situated in the centre of town and has shaded picnic tables overlooking lily covered ponds.

Pine Creek Railway Resort


Pine Creek

17 stylishly furnished cabins ranging from single, queen, self-contained and family cabins. The resort has been in operation since 2009 and is rated 4.5 stars. Facilities include air-conditioned cabins with comfy beds, Foxtel, a lagoon-style shaded swimming pool and a restaurant built in the shape of two trains parked at a Railway Station.

Contact:
Address: 1 Railway Tce, Pine Creek NT 0847
Postal: PO Box 182, Pine Creek NT 0847
Phone. 08 8976 1001
Mobile. 0428 100 964
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Web: http://www.pinecreekrailwayresort.com.au/


Lazy Lizard

The Lazy Lizard is in the heart of the historic Pine Creek in Australia's Outback Northern Territory. Perfect base for Bird Watchers. It is also at the gateway to World Heritage Listed Kakadu National Park. Come and experience the rustic charm, warm welcome and great food at the Lazy Lizard. The Lazy Lizard Tavern is a unique outback tavern, constructed from termite mound-mud brick, and local ironwood featuring beautifully carved images of the local wildlife. A Must See - the Lazy Lizard is also pet friendly as long as kept on a leash. It also has a saltwater swimming pool.

A range of accommodation is available:
Unpowered & powered sites for camping and caravans
Backpackers - single beds, twin share and dorm rooms.
Single Rooms - king single bed with linen supplied, air-con, coffee & tea making facilities, fridge, ensuite
Self-contained cabins - queen bed with linen supplied, air-con, kitchenette with crockery & cutlery, dining area, coffee & tea making facilities, fridge, satellite TV/DVD and verandah with outdoor setting.

The restaurant & bar is open from 10 am to late every day. Eat-in or take away fresh cooked meals.
Kitchen Opening Hours: Lunch: 12 pm to 3 pm, Dinner: 6 pm to 8 pm (Fresh homemade Pizzas will be served all day long)

Bottlemart Express with over 70 regular items, with prices on special being the same as Darwin Bottlemart outlets.  

Contact: 
299 Millar Terrace, Pine Creek NT 0847
Phone: 08 8976 1019 * Fax: 08 8976 1066
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Web: http://lazylizardpinecreek.com.au
facebook - lazylizardpinecreek